Posts

Domain name assholes

Where to begin? I get so many offers–or, rather, “notices”–to renew or register domains that I decided to write an article on a few of ‘em. You’ll know what I’m talking about if you’ve read my article on [Domain Renewal Fraud](http://jedihawk.com/hawksblog/?p=154).

Most recently: I got a fax from “DOMAIN REGISTRY SUPPORT”. This fax looks very official. It’s got toll free phone numbers, the address in New York, Account numbers, reply deadlines, intellectual property notification process numbers (whatever those are), legal codes, legalese… and it’s titled with “URGENT NOTICE OF DOMAIN EXTENSION”. It looks very official.

It’s all a load of crock. It’s bullshit. It’s a sham. This company is trying to get my business via dishonest means.

This fax is for a non-existant domain called MASTERSLACKER.US:

I own masterslacker.com and masterslacker.net, both of which forward to my standard jedihawk.com website because… well… I just haven’t done anything with ‘em.

See how official this notice looks? See the text which reads, “You are required to advise the notification processor of your intent to license this domain name on or before the expiration of this notice.” This is very deceptive. I am required to do no such thing. I’m not even required to call ‘em up and inform them that they can come down to Hollywood and kiss my ass.

Pick a good domain register that you can trust (*[not Registerfly](http://jedihawk.com/hawksblog/?p=144)*) and stick with ‘em; don’t take any official-looking bullshit from anyone else.

One Response

  1. Good article says on December 22nd, 2007 at 11:03 pm:

    Greatest review about Domain name assholes. I enjoy your articles.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Archives and Links